Inspirations / Other / Projects

That temporary land of Winter.

Winter and I have something of a love/hate relationship. I used to adore the ice and the snow when I was a kid and couldn’t for the life of me fathom why my folks were so jumpy about it. Then I became self-employed and started driving and every nervous reaction to the weather suddenly became blindingly obvious. HOLY HELL, THE SKIDDING AND STUFF! I’ve been snowed in, driven between snow drifts taller than my car and even had to send photographic proof to folk down south who didn’t believe that my car had been pretty well frozen into place. Far too many people have witnessed yours truly, red faced in a dress and wellies, wielding a luminous orange snow shovel and gritting like a demon. Expletives and general muttering may also feature with the previous image. However, for all of my grumbling, the photographer in me still gets a little giddy when those little crystals of ice begin to fall. I’ve even been known to combat roll straight out of bed and into a coat when there’s been a frost. (Seriously, it’s ridiculous.)

I love the way that ice forms on different surfaces in the garden, and the beautiful soft winter light that lends a sparkle. I love the bursts of colour that appear through the blanket of white, and the endless array of shapes and patterns that grow and morph with the changes in temperature. I love that we sometimes get to see the world looking a bit like this:

 

3

2

1

4

8

7

5

6

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

Did I mention that I also freaking love the opportunity to nerd out with nature and a macro lens? Oh man ❤

Until next time,

E x

 

One thought on “That temporary land of Winter.

  1. Pingback: The 2015 round-up: Adventures | Elly Lucas, Photographer

Leave a Reply

